365 Challenge 23 September 2009

Carvings by Grandpa Jim

Carvings by Grandpa Jim

Unfinished Business:  My friend Jim Glass worked with wood his entire life, as had his father.  It was not only his job, but his hobby.  We lost Jim a little more than 3 months ago, and I miss him.  I think he knew he was near the end of his time here, and he spent a lot of his last months preparing.  And even though he knew his time was short, he still had made some plans.    Jim worked his whole life in the wood trades, and died 7 months after he retired, and many of his plans, like his little carvings shown here, will remain unfinished.

While I was photographing them I was wondering how many of my dreams and goals have I put off until I retire?  What am I missing?  Am I doing the things that God has me here to do?  I need to make a concerted effort to begin filtering all the things that occupy my time and really concentrate of the most important.  How about you, are you doing what you’re here to do?  What can you cut out of your schedule to make time for what’s important to you?

Manual: Read pages 51-53 Camera Settings in a downloaded version of the Nikon D3X manual.  I am renting a D3X for a wedding shoot on Saturday.  More than anything it’s a chance to try one out and see how I like it.

Inspiration:  Still reading in David du Chemin’s book.  Aldo looked Ken Rockwell’s image galleries.  I’m enjoying studying the work of other photographers.  Are you enjoying the challenge too?

Leave a Reply

