September 29, 2009

Hydrangia

Hydrangea

Today was a typical rainy Pacific Northwest day.  Stormy, windy, and beautiful.  There was a break in the rain this afternoon and I took out my 105 f/2.8 to try a few closeups in the garden.  I got several nice shots, but this Hydrangea is my favorite.  I like the deep blues and purples.

The Challenge continues to challenge.  Staying focused, (all puns intended), and trying new and different things.  Learning new things and then reinforcing those skills with practice.  Over the next several weeks I hope to set up a small studio with basic lighting so that while the days are short, (I normally leave for and return from work in the dark from October – March), I can work on my lighting skills, with the goal of making them nearly habitual, second nature if you will. I wonder what other photographers will be doing during the shorter winter days.

Manual: NIkon Manual, pages 204 and 205 covering image playback and the information available in the several screens.

Photographers:  Spent some time enjoying the images at Hasselblad’s Masters Galleries.  Some very stunning work.  Also browsed through a couple of issues of “Victor” magazine online.  I’ve seen the print edition, but you can download the soft copy for free.

2 Responses to “September 29, 2009”

  1. raennshadow Says:

    I think I will have to drive up to the Amanda entrance to Olympic National Park to see the hydrangias up there this weekend.

  2. […] I walked into the house upon returning from work.  The Hydrangea plant outside our door has been featured here before, in September when it’ blooms were in beautiful display.  But in the winter the blooms are […]

Leave a Reply

