October 9, 2009

Mill Pond Port Blakely Mill, Bainbridge Island

Mill Pond Port Blakely Mill, Bainbridge Island

Friday, October 9th I found myself with  couple of hours to myself and ended up at the old Port Blakely Mill.  In the late 19th century, it was the largest sawmill in the world.  It is one of my favorite photo locations here on the Island.  It’s always peaceful, and rarely do you see anyone else.  This shot is of the mill pond and the fall foliage surrounding it.  Do you have a favorite photo location?

Manual: Read pages 148-150 on Nikon Picture Control settings.  I normally leave mine on “nuetral” but maybe next week in Charleston I’ll try “vivid”.

Inspiration:  Viewed images by Margaret Bourke-White at Time-Life.  I could not find a dedicated site.  WHile I’d heard of her and seen some of her work, I didn’t realize the many “firsts” she is credited with.  Firwt woman photojournalist, first Life magazine cover in 1936.  Pretty amazing woman who had an eye for simple composition.  Very enjoyable work.

Leave a Reply

