365 Challenge – November 22, 2009

 

Toy Kaleidoscope View

Toy Kaleidoscope

“A kaleidoscope is a tube of mirrors containing loose coloured beads, pebbles, or other small coloured objects. The viewer looks in one end and light enters the other end, reflecting off the mirrors.”

Although just a child’s toy it always amazes me the things that can be done with optics.  From eyeglasses that improve our vision to telescopes capable of seeing the farthest reaches of our galaxy, to trick optics that bend light.  I was heading out to my garage to find a subject to shoot and I came upon this little toy kaleidoscope of my grandkid’s.  Holding it in front of my lens I was able to focus on a framed picture on my wall.  Simple.  Then I thought I could take out the single lens, but couldn’t without breaking it, so this is my image.  It made me think about how far photography has come in it’s relatively short existence.

Manual:  Nikon D300 Pages 34-35 on the right way to mount and unmount the lens.

Inspiration:  Was at Barnes and Noble and looked through the wonderful National Geographic Images.  Such a rich photographic history of the world.  Organizations have really helped me understand what a small place Earth is.

Photo of the Toy Kaleidoscope below:

 

The Toy Today's 365 Challenge Was Taken With.

 

 

Leave a Reply

