365 Challenge – January 11, 2010

Generations of Pentax

My first real camera was a Pentax K1000 I bought in the ship’s store of the USS KINKAID.  My daughter has that K1000 now, but a friend gave me old Honeywell/Pentax pictured above.  The ZX-5 and MZ-S are mine frmo my film shooting days.  Over the years I also owned several ME/ME Super and a couple of Super Programs, and an MX.  I also still own a 645 kit with 3 lenses…  I bought the K1000 because it was the only camera had any brand recognition for me.  On his album, The Art of Tea, Michael Franks sings a song called Popsicle Toes, and there’s a line in the song…”How come you always load your Pentax when I’m in the nude?”

When I first decided to go digital I went with Pentax, bought the *istD the week it was released.  I still have it too, packed away in a box somewhere needing a new CF drive.  But as I began seriously contemplating a larger business I made the decision to switch to Nikon.  Why Nikon and not Canon?  In the 1980’s and 1990’s when cameras began using autofocus only Pentax and Nikon made their new lens mounts compatible with previous gear.  So that’s it for tonight’s trip down memory lane.

Manual: Page 60, Image Size

Inspiration: Read more of Ansel Adams and the Photographers of the American West.

Leave a Reply

