365 Challenge – February 15, 2010

Recycling in Action

Ran across Bainbridge Island blogger, Diane Walker‘s post with a photo of these mailboxes a few months ago.  Today I decided to hunt them down for my own shot for my post today.  Turns out they are owned by Dick Strom, metal artist and owner of Modern Collision, a shop where I’ve had a few cars repaired here on Bainbridge.  It was interesting to drive down his road, as it’s a road I haven’t explored all that much, in spite of the fact that I grew up on this island and thought I had traveled just about every road.  Having found the mailboxes I traveled a bit further and found a county park I did not know existed, as well as a beautiful old waterfront property that sits abandoned and neglected.  When I was younger they were pretty common, summer places that Seattle families got too busy to visit, and held onto for the future…  But it’s pretty uncommon today as Island waterfront land is at a premium.  I’ll post a few extra shots at the end of this post.  I’ll just say it was nice to take some time today and just go for a drive and see some new sights.

Manual: Page 106 Shutter Priority Auto

Inspiration:  Enjoyed reading and viewing images from Diane Walker’s PhotoBlog “Contemplative Photography

Additional Images from today:

Old Split Rail Fence

Split rail fence on W Port Madison Road, Nikon D90, 18-105mm at 18, ISO 200, f/11, 1/125 sec.  Processed in LR using Preset Heaven’s Old Holga BW

"If I had a million dollars..."

Oh to win the lotto, or…  I can never figure out why it’s left to just deteriorate. Beautiful grounds, waterfront on Port Madison.  Great exposure…

Probably need some wiring and plumbing...

Detail shot of the grounding strap…

Leave a Reply

