365 Challenge – April 22, 2010

Saw Blade Shavings

On February 19, 2010 I took my grandkids to the site of the Port Blakely Mill, now a city park on Bainbridge Island.  I posted photos of that day on this blog.  When I was deciding on what to photograph for todays 365 shot, I came across this small piece of rusted saw-blade shavings on the beach.  It was near the large “rocks” also saw-blade shavings that have been in the harbor for around 100 years. (A picture of the “rocks” is below). I’ve written before about how the blade sharpening shack was on he pier and as the blades were sharpened each night the shavings fell through the pier and eventually formed these large boulder-looking mounds.  This small chunk had broken off the main mound so I took it as a souvenir.

Blade Shavings Boulders

Manual: Pages 196-198  Non-CPU Lenses

Inspiration:  Online galleries of Gregory Hisler

Leave a Reply

